Mouthy Mondays

Mouthy Mondays: Things I learnt in my early 20’s.

Hey Lovelies,

So it’s my 25th birthday tomorrow (Tuesday). To be honest, it feels quite surreal as I just don’t feel ‘old’ enough to be 25, especially when I compare myself to other 25 year olds I know! So many other people who are 25 have jobs, families, travelling all over the place and even some are married, and then there’s little old me. Only just sorted out a job, definitely no kids, haven’t been on a proper holiday for a hell of a long time and definitely not married! But looking back, I don’t regret much of my early 20’s.

Alot has changed since I turned 20, a lot has happened and i’m definitely a different person than I was 5 years ago and i’m glad…I like who I’m becoming (most days!). So I thought I’d share some of the ‘life’ lessons I’ve learnt over the past 5 years.

So let’s get stuck in.

1.You realise who your true friends are.

As you get older, especially as you enter your 20’s, you start to work out which friends are really there for you. A lot happened in my life in the past five years and it’s tough times that show who really is there for you. I’ve lost a few friends over the years but I’ve also gained some who mean more to me than some other people I’ve known years. My best friend is a girl i’ve known since I was 18, and the past five years have really pushed our friendship and thanks to that I know 100% she’s a friend for life and the bestest friend a girl can have. I’ve met some amazing people over the years, but one thing I’ve learnt is keep your circle small…as it’s better to have a small group of people you can trust and will be there for you, then loads of loads of part time friends that leave you feeling lonely when you really need a friend to lean on.

life lessons 1

2. Sometimes letting go is the best, and sometimes, the only option. 

There comes a time in our lives when we just have to let go of certain things, for example relationships/friendships that have turned toxic. Things like these can be such a drain on your life, making you feel low and constantly unsure of yourself. And the only option, the best option is to let it go, no matter how hard it is. It might hurt, but in the long run it’s worth it. Your life is yours, don’t let something that is holding you back win. And sometimes, letting go is what fixes it. I’ve had to let go of a friendship before because we had turned so toxic to each other, and after 6 months of not talking things started to work out and go back to how they were in the beginning.

3. Your parents ain’t that bad.

When your younger, your parents can seem to get on your nerves…all the rules, all the expectations etc. I remember thinking I can’t wait to move out, have my own place and live by my rules, as I hated all the rules my parents had. But as I reached my twenties, I realised my Parents ain’t that bad. They love me and only want the best for me, I might have hated the rules, but i am who I am today thanks to my parents…my morals etc came from the rules and the way I was raised. And my mum is more than just my mum, she’s more like a friend sometimes and I have the best relationship with her than I’ve had in years.

life lessons 2

4. Sometimes it doesn’t work out as planned, but that’s okay. Scrap that idea of perfect.

We all have this idea of how we want our lives to be by a certain age, time etc. For me, by 25 I had this perfect little image of being settled down with the boyfriend I was with back when I was 20, a dream job, a perfect house, maybe an engagement with a wedding soon and a baby. And well that clearly never happened…thank god! I love my life now, a lot have changed, that perfect dream never happened…and to be honest i’m thankful. I wouldn’t change what I have now for anything. But there was a time that the idea I had haunted me, after things fell apart between me and that boyfriend, I was haunted my making sure that dream happened…I jumped into relationship after relationship in hope that i’d found someone to make that dream happen. Eventually, i realised just because it didn’t work out doesn’t make it a bad thing, it’s ok for it not too work out like planned because then it gives way for a different plan, a different dream to take place and all the things since working that out, have been so much better than the dream. I have the dream job now, one day i’ll have my perfect house and one day i’ll have my own little mini me…but there’s no deadline…it’ll happen when it happens. I’ve scraped that idea of perfect, to make my own version of perfect. We can easily get caught up in the idea of the perfect life, and it ends up holding us back more than help us…if your life doesn’t go to plan, don’t worry…it’s only because there’s something better than you planned coming!

life lessons post

So that’s the main life lessons I’ve learnt in my early 20’s, there’s been many more but I didn’t want to write a very very long post on it (and it’s long enough already!).

Looking forward to whatever the next five years bring!

Till the next time,

Gemma

..x.X.x..

Leave a Reply

