Making a House a Home

House to Home #1

Hey beauties,

So as you all probably know, I moved into my own place in March and I’m rather excited about decorating it and making all homey & mine…and I thought I’d share updates on here on how it’s going. There will be all sorts of posts in this series, D.I.Ys, Homeware and furniture hauls and before and after pictures of the flat.

And I thought I’d kick start it all with a small homeware haul I did a few weeks ago in Ikea and a few other places.

So let’s get stuck in!

2014-05-20 16.32.19

The first thing I picked up(and the reason I went into the Ikea in the first place.), is this Helmer Drawer Unit. I wanted something to keep all my make-up together in one place and this seemed like the perfect size for my collection. It took me ages to put together (Me and flat pack are mortal enemies!)  but I love it! All put the bottom drawer is filled with make-up and I keep the bottom one for all my incense and candles.

2014-04-25 15.07.26

I picked up the Skurar candle holder, to use to keep my make-up brushes in…I barely have any brushes at the moments, but it that will change eventually and it looks really nice on top of my make-up storage…thinking of getting the slightly bigger one and using it as a vase or a plant pot to pretty up the plants I plan to buy to bring some nature in the flat. And I couldn’t resist picking up the Rotera Latern, a blogger’s favourite if my Instagram is anything to go by!  I have it on my window at the moment, but I think It’ll make a nice alternative to a bedside lamp on my bedside table and will look rather pretty. I think I’ll pick up a few more, as they give the flat such a soft, cosy feeling and it would look really nice scattered around the flat.  And of course, I had to pick up some tealights to go in the lantern.

2014-04-25 15.06.32

And finally in Ikea, I picked up two of each glass in the picture above, I couldn’t resist the printed ones…they were just too adorable!

  2014-04-25 14.59.55

I am a bit of a mug hoarder and I couldn’t resist these beauts in Wilkinsons. Another three to add to the collection, I really should stop buying mugs and starting buying more essential items for the flat! I also picked up an Elephant printed throw in Primark which is the softest throw ever and currently lives on my sofa, perfect for an evening in, snuggled up with popcorn and movies!

So that’s everything I’ve picked up for the flat since moving in, I will be buying more as time goes on and plan to start decorating soon, so keep an eye out for this series on my blog!

Till the next time,

Gemma.

..xXx..

Facebook./Twitter./Bloglovin./Pinterest./Tumblr./Google+./About.Me.

Leave a Reply

